Moot Court Board of Appellate Advocacy

Sub Menu ↓

FIU Law Board of Appellate Advocates

FIU Law’s Moot Court (Appellate Advocacy) Program emphasizes the development of brief-writing and oral-advocacy through state, regional, national, and international competitions against other law students from across the nation and around the world.

During the fall of their second or third year, FIU Law Students compete in an intramural moot court competition based on a real world problem developed by the Moot Court Executive Board for a chance to compete on the national and international Moot Court travel team. Local attorneys and judges evaluate the intramural competitors in a round robin and bracket styled competition that culminates in a championship round before a panel of state and federal judges.

As a member of the national and international travel team, each student develops their brief-writing and oral-advocacy skills through competitions that require students to submit an appellate brief and then argue in front a panel of attorneys and state or federal judges from across the country.

Executive Board

2018-2019 Moot Court Executive Board
Co-Presidents: Angelique Gulla and Natalie Oyarzun.
Vice-Presidents: Mary Corbin and Amirah Mohammad
Faculty Advisor: Ila Klion

Team Members: Jason Anon, Julio Ayala, Mary Berney, Patrick Brady, Thomas Campbell, Sydney Chicon, Alina Fernandez, Jazmin Green, Megan Labgold, Raul Marrero, Genesis Martinez, Emily Palacio, Kelly Parker, Niuris Ramos, Janet Millan, Shannon Rosales, Amaia Sanz De Acedo, Kathryn Simpson, Steven Valdes, Federica Vergani, Anel Viamontes, Kathryn Wood, Sam Shahidi, Michael Ellis, Katryna Santa Cruz, Monique Reyes,  Audrey Fernandez, Erin Herrell,  Nina Batista, Laura Abril, Annabelle Gonzalez-Suarez, Jordan Esteban, Lauren Garcia, Erica Hausdorff, Taylor Ribaudo,  Natalie Del Cueto,  Blairr Miller, Reed Fuller, Iliana Hernandez, Rebecca Sambursky, David Moran, Gabriela Rodriguez, Jake Roth, Keith Anton, Dianet Torres, Riquan King, Taylor Goldschmidt, Natalie Prieto Rodriguez, Sandra Mejia,  Kathleen Leon, Casey Waldeck, Scarlett Singh, Sonny Romano, Breana Khouly,  Julie Talbot, Pooja Patel, Carmen Ortega

  • Eligibility: Students must be FIU Law students in good standing (not on academic probation) and either 2L full-time students or 3L part-time students. Completion of LSV I and LSV II is also a prerequisite.
  • Try Outs/Intramural Competition: To be eligible for the Moot Court team, students must take a two-credit pass/fail course called “Appellate Procedure” in the fall of their 2L year (or 3L year for part-time students). This accelerated course, beginning in August and concluding in mid-October, teaches students advanced brief writing and oral advocacy skills as they prepare to file an appellate brief and deliver oral arguments during the intramural competition. From late October through early November, students compete in a round robin and bracket style intramural competition that culminates in a championship round of oral arguments before a panel of appellate judges. The Moot Court Board will select the incoming class based on the students’ performances in the intramural competition.

Please contact Co-Presidents Angelique Gulla at or Natalie Oyarzun at

16th Annual Board of Appellate Advocates Intramural Moot Court Competition

External Competitions


John J. Gibbons Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition
2019 – National Champion John J. Gibbons Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition, Best Respondent Brief John J. Gibbons Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition, Best Preliminary Round Oralist, Runner-Up Best Preliminary Round Oralist

The ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition
2019 – Semi-Finalists, Top 10 Oralist Award
2015 – Octo-Finalist

The Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition
2019 – Semi-Finalists, Top 5 Brief, Top 10 Oralist Award
2018 – Regional Round, Second Place and International Qualifier
2007 – Regional Round, Fifth Place

E. Earle Zehmer National Moot Court Competition
2018 – Sweet Sixteen Finalists and Semi-Finalists

The Florida Bar Association Orseck Memorial Moot Court Competition
2018 – Quarter-Finalists
2017 – Quarter-Finalists
2012 – Semi-Finalists
2011 – Runner-Up
2010 – Semi-Finalists
2008 – Semi-Finalists
2007 – Semi-Finalists
2005 – Semi-Finalists
2004 – Semi-Finalists & Best Brief Trophy

Billings Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition
2017 – National Semi-Finalists

National Latina/o Law Student Association Moot Court Competition
2017 – Quarterfinalists

The Monroe E. Price International Media Law Moot Court Competition
2015 – International Final Rounds (March 2015, Oxford University)
2015 – Americas Regional Round, Runner-Up Team
2014 – International Final Rounds (Oxford University, Octofinalist, Eighth-Place Orator, Tenth-Place Orator)
2014 – Americas Regional Round, Quarterfinalist,
Fourth-Place Orator

The Wechsler National First Amendment Moot Court Competition
2015 – Octo-Finalists
2014 – Quarterfinalists
2010 – Quarterfinalists
2009 – Quarterfinalists & Octo-finalists
2008 – Semi-Finalists, Quarterfinalists & Best Orator
2007 – Semi-Finalists, Octo-finalists & Runner-Up Best Orator
2006 – Semi-Finalists, Quarterfinalists & Second-Place Brief
2005 – Semi-Finalists, Quarterfinalists & Third-Place Brief
2004 – Runner-Up

The National Moot Court Competition
2005 – Regionals, Fourth Place & Fourth-Place Brief
2004 – Regionals, Second Place & Second-Place Brief; Final Round Competitor, New York, NY

The Ferrell Intercultural Human Rights Moot Court Competition
2015 – Runner-Up Team; Runner-Up Memorial, Best Orator, Fourth Runner-Up Orator, Fifth Runner-Up Orator
2014 – Runner-Up Best Orator; Second Runner-Up Best Orator
2013 – Runner-Up Team; Second Runner-Up Best Memorial; Third Runner-Up Orator; Fifth Runner-Up Orator
2012 – Runner-Up Team, Second Runner-Up Best Memorial & Best Orator
2011 – Third Place & Best Memorials
2010 – Third Place & Best Memorials
2009 – Champions, Best Orator, Runner-Up Best Orator & Second Runner-Up Best Orator
2008 – Champions, Runner-Up Best Memorial, Best Orator, Runner-Up Best Orator & Second Runner-Up Best Orator
2007 – Runner-Up Team, Best Memorial & Runner-Up Best Orator