Michelle D. Mason Wins 2013 Florida Bar Faculty Professionalism Award
Michelle D. Mason and Linda Calvert Hanson, Director, The Florida Bar, Henry Latimer Center for Professionalism

The Standing Committee on Professionalism and the Henry Latimer Center for Professionalism has selected Michelle D. Mason, senior associate dean of the Florida International University College of Law, as the winner of its 2013 Florida Bar Faculty Professionalism Award.

Each year, the award recognizes one faculty member or administrator of one of Florida’s law schools who through teaching, scholarship and service to the profession best supports or exemplifies the mission of the Standing Committee on Professionalism:

“To promote the fundamental ideals and values of professionalism within the legal system and to instill those ideals of character, competence, civility, and commitment in all those persons serving and seeking to serve therein.”

Mason was nominated for the award by R. Alexander Acosta, dean of FIU Law.

“Dean Mason is the heart and soul of FIU Law,” Acosta said. “Her contributions to our law school and the profession are immeasurable. I am very happy for her and proud to call her a colleague and friend.”

Mason said, “I am honored to have been nominated and selected for this award. My goal was to match our faculty and my administrative colleagues’ efforts to well-prepare our student body for the legal practice’s expectations of professionalism, ethical conduct, civility and service to the community.  I am proud to be a part of a law school where professionalism education is viewed as central to our mission.”

Mason joined FIU Law as founding Associate Dean for Admissions and Student Services in 2001. Her responsibilities include the supervision of enrollment management operations (admissions, financial aid and registration), the student development areas (student affairs, career development, community service, and externship programming), as well as oversight for the law school’s various student outreach programming and pipeline initiatives.

The award was presented on June 27 at the Judicial Luncheon held at The Florida Bar’s Annual Convention.

Facebook Twitter Linkedin Stumbleupon Tumblr Email