FIU Law’s annual Barrister’s Ball celebrates students and faculty

On Saturday, April 5, 2014, FIU Law students, along alumni, faculty and staff donned their best ‘Gatsbyesque’ fashions and celebrated the near-end to the school year during the annual Barrister’s Ball.

The evening also served as a time to recognize some outstanding faculty, to announce the incoming Student Bar Association (SBA) executive board and to reveal the names of those faculty members who will have a special role during May’s commencement.  

Before guests kicked up their heels, SBA President Alisha Mays and Barrister’s Ball Chair and Vice President – Day Division Melanie Kalmin, presented various awards and recognition. Barrister’s Ball co-Chair Kristen Farber also assisted with the presentation. 

Each year, students select a Professor and Pioneer of the Year. This year, Professor Tracy Pearl was given both distinctions. Professor Pearl was recognized for excellence in teaching and her devoted commitment to the students (Professor of the Year) and for her visionary contributions (Pioneer of the Year). Receiving this recognition from the students was very special to her.

“I was incredibly honored to be the recipient of both the Professor of the Year Award and the Pioneer Award.  Teaching at FIU has been such a rewarding experience.  The students are motivated, energetic, and fun to have in the classroom. I am thankful every day for the opportunity to get to know such great groups of law students.  These awards are really just the icing on the cake of what has been an awesome two years.  I am so grateful to the SBA and to the student body for selecting me to be their recipient this year and I am humbled to be joining my incredibly talented colleagues who have won these awards in years past,” she shared.

 Pearl teaches Torts, Products Liability, Toxic and Environmental Torts and a seminar on Victim Compensation.

A special award was presented to Professor Alex Pearl for his influence and his work with the students over the past two years. He received the Impact Award. Pearl teaches Property, Sports Law and American Indian Law.

The Barrister’s Ball was also a time to say good-bye to the current board and welcome in the new one. Mays took time to reflect on her term.  “My term as SBA President was very rewarding. As Treasurer the year before, I learned a lot about the inner workings of the SBA. That experience and knowledge was very beneficial as President. I cannot say enough how grateful I am for my hard-working board members, and all of the faculty, staff, and administration that helped with everything that has happened in the last year. I hope that these combined efforts made a lasting impression on the College of Law. I know that Daniel Horton and the entire 2014-2015 board are eager to get to work and continue serving our student body’s needs. I know that the school will be in good hands, and I look forward to hearing about the great things that are happening over the next year.”

As is tradition, the names of those professors who will have a special role during commencement were announced.  Serving as hooders for the 2014 commencement exercises are Professor Christine Rickard, Professor Michele Anglade and Professor Eloisa Rodriguez-Dod.

  Congratulations to the 2014-2015 Student Bar Association Board

PresidentDaniel Horton
Vice President Day- Sandra Sokolin
Vice President EveningGuerda Prosper 
SecretaryRyan Maguire 
TreasurerKathleen Pfahlert
ABA RepresentativeKai Thompson
SGA Representative- Carlos Diaz
2L Representative DayKirk Villalon
2L Representative EveningBrady Thompson
3L Representative DayKristen Farber
3L Representative Evening – Open
4L RepresentativeMiguel Tellado

 2014 SBA Award Winners

Professor of the YearTracy Pearl
Pioneer of the Year AwardTracy Pearl
Impact AwardAlex Pearl
Hooding CommitteeProfessor Rickard, Professor Anglade and Professor Rodriguez-Dod
Alumni Board Representative (Day)Nicole Sinder
Alumni Board Representative (Evening)Randy Narkir
                                     Commencement Speaker (Day)Brian Raque                          
Commencement Speaker (Night)Alfonso Leon


Facebook Twitter Linkedin Stumbleupon Tumblr Email